WWW Wednesday: Week One- August 2017

WWW Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Taking On A World Of Words.

The Three W’s stand for:
What did you recently finish reading?
What are you currently reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


So I’ve been wanting to participate in WWW Wednesdays for a while, but I always seem to forget about it until I see everyone’s posts on Thursday, and, well, then it’s too late.  But I love the idea of briefly sharing about what books I’ve been reading lately without having to push people over to my Goodreads account (although if you’re interested: Jordan Finch).

Nonetheless, something clicked today and I remembered about WWW Wednesday in time to participate!  So without further ado, here are my three Ws:

Recently Finished:

The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher

Guys, I’m a big Star Wars fan, and I was quite excited at the chance to read some behind-the-scenes stories from the film.  And although we do get a few of those stories in this book, mainly how Leia’s iconic hair-do came about, this book mainly focuses on Carrie’s affair with her co-star, Harrison Ford.  Frankly, their ‘relationship’ squicked me out more than a bit, but I loved Carrie’s writing style.  She’s funny and clever and witty, and she’s not afraid to tell it like it is, even if that means making fun of herself.  Reading this book was rather bittersweet knowing that Carrie is now gone, but I’m grateful for this look into one of the biggest times in her life and how her experiences during filming changed her life.

Currently Reading:

The Great Quake: How the Biggest Earthquake in North America Changed Our Understanding of the Planet by Henry Fountain

I received an ARC of this book from Penguin’s First to Read, and I’m so glad I received the opportunity to read this baby!  I’ve been reading more non-fiction in the last few years, and I always love finding books about time periods or events or people that produced major changes in the world of which I am totally unaware.  This book, about the biggest earthquake in North America in recorded history, is written as narrative nonfiction; it provides insight into the history of the Alaskan towns that were impacted as well as the lives of some of the people who lived in those places during the time of the earthquake.  There’s also a lot of background in geology and in the cause of earthquakes, which is a little dense to read at times, but it’s all new to me and thus pretty interesting.  Growing up on the New Madrid Fault, earthquakes were always a worry in the back of people’s minds, but I never really knew exactly how earthquakes worked.  Now I do, and I hope I’m not around when the next big one hits.

Reading Next:

Geekerella by Ashley Poston

I’m a sucker for retellings and for books about fandoms, and this book seems to be the best of both of those!  I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about Geekerella, and I’m totally in love with the cover, so I’m really looking forward to diving into it.


And that’s that!  If you’re interested in other books I’ve read recently or other books I’m planning to read this month, check out my Goodreads or keep checking back here–I swear I’m going to try and keep up with WWW Wednesdays!  Otherwise, happy hump day and happy reading!


Leave a Reply

