On Moving, Writing, and Being Me

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

I should probably apologize for being a terrible blogger.  I honestly forget I even have a blog most of the time, which is alright because I doubt anyone is waiting with bated breath to read my newest post.  (And if you are, then wow.  Go check out my Pinterest instead.  I’m on there constantly.)  I’ve also had a lot going on in the last year.  I collected, tested, and analyzed dozens of soil and various other samples for my Master’s research, wrote a 73 page Master’s thesis (which finally got approved!), played Maid of Honor in my sister’s wedding, and moved three states from home.  So you’ll have to forgive me for being a bit distracted.  Regardless, I got the urge to share the new things going on in Jordan-world, so here you go.

I am now officially a Louisvillian.  I’ve moved to Louisville, KY, home of bourbon, the Derby, and the fantastic Jennifer Lawrence.  (We also produce 90% of the USA’s disco balls.  Who knew?)  I’ve only been here officially about two weeks, but that’s been long enough to make a number of important observations.  So please allow me to share “The Newbie Guide to Louisville,” also known by its more accurate title, “Louisville as Told by an Introvert Who Actually Lives Just Outside the City.”

Observation 1: Traffic laws are not a priority.  At all.  They’re barely even guidelines.  I can be going 35 in a 25 zone and get outpaced by people in old junk cars.  I get outpaced by cops, too, who don’t seem to care that no one is obeying the speed limit.  They also don’t seem to care that people run red lights.  And it’s not like, “Oops, I didn’t mean to do that, but I’m already in the intersection so I might as well go.”  It’s more like the light turns red and at least three more cars go through.  In their defense, though, the lights are ridiculously long, so you squeak through them if there’s even the slightest chance you can make it.  I actually had time to write this blog post while sitting at a red light.  (Okay, that’s a slight exaggeration.  But I probably could have had I been so inclined.)

Observation 2: The drive between St. Louis and Louisville sucks.  This is not really an observation about the town itself, but it’s still important to know.  300 miles of basically nothing; it is extremely dull, and this is coming from a girl who lived in a town where the most exciting thing in the past 50 years was getting a Taco Bell.  The drive is long and flat and there aren’t even billboards to look at.  Thank goodness for my iPod/iPhone to play music. 

Observation 3: I am in the minority.  SWF, full-time professional student, and I’m in the minority.  Not for any of those attributes, however; it’s because I don’t have a dog.  Every walker, jogger, biker, skater, you name it has at least one dog running around with them.  I feel like I’m being judged for my caninelessness.

Observation 4: The ambulances have jingle bells.  Actual jingle bells.  Rather cheery when they’re just driving by.  Probably less cheery when they go flying past like Santa on a demented sleigh.  Maybe they think the people riding in the back will think of Christmas?  I really can’t reason that out.

Observation 5: The radio stations are basically the same as in St. Louis.  This is good, because as anyone who has ever ridden in a car with me knows, I can’t stay on the same radio station for more than a few songs.  And if there are commercials, forget it.  So at least I can jump around to stations similar to what I’m used to scanning through.

Observation 6: One-way streets are everywhere.  And they are the bane of my existence.  Enough said.

I’ve also made a number of other discoveries unrelated to being in Louisville, but they’re still exciting to me.  (Not that it takes much to excite me, but that’s not the point.)  First, a DVR is a wonderful thing.  I’ve finally gotten to sort of catch up on Syfy’s “Haven,” which I love but I never seem to catch it when is originally airs.  And now if I’m busy doing something else or I don’t feel like sitting in front of the TV any longer, I can just set the show to record and watch it at my leisure.  Genius!  I’ve also noticed that my hair is less frizzy here.  St. Louis and Louisville have pretty much the same climate and weather, but I’m certainly not to going to question this one.  Less frizz=less crazy hair=happier me.

I also wanted to share a bit about my writing.  I’ve been seriously working on my novel for about a year and a half now, and lately I’ve been working with much greater consistency.  It’s really been paying off; the writing is easier and things are slowly starting to connect.  Pinterest has actually been super helpful in boosting my writing.  I’ve been able to find tons of inspiration to get the creative juices flowing.  The right picture can instantly lead to an entire scene, and that is a wonderful feeling.  I can also stick all my inspirations in one place to make things easier to refer back to.  I’ve been captioning a lot of these pictures I’m posting with bits and pieces of my original writing and I’ve been getting lots of good feedback on them, which makes me happy in my heart.  Maybe I’m not as sucky as a writer as I sometimes think I am.  But then I look at my notebook full of random scenes and one-liners and feel a bit overwhelmed.  Everything I write goes into my writing notebook, but I am terrible at transferring all that writing from my notebook over to Scrivener, my word-processor of choice.  And I don’t write anything in order, so when I do get around to making the jump to digital, it’s going to take a lot of time, which is something I may not have for a while what with starting my PhD program.  But it’s always been my dream to be a writer, so I will make time for it and finally get this story finished! (Cue inspirational applause.)

I guess that’s really all I have to say.   I won’t promise to update this more often because it probably won’t happen and I’d rather take the time to work on my story anyway.  But if I suddenly get the urge to share about my introverted, book-filled, totally random life, I’ll post it here.  So be good or be sneaky, and TTFN!


Leave a Reply

