KazNoWriMo

For many authors and aspiring writers, November is NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month.  The goal?  Write 50,000 words in one month.  This is equivalent to approximately a 175 page novel in 30 days. 

This may seem like a pretty daunting task (and it is), but many people worldwide participate each year.  I considered taking part last year but just couldn’t devote that much time, as I was too busy writing about that many pages for my various courses so that I could graduate on time! 

This year, however, one of my wonderful author friends is running KazNoWriMo-Kaz Novel Writing Month. It’s the same idea, but the goal is 30,000 words instead of 50k.  That’s 1000 words, or roughly 4 manuscript pages, a day.  After my newfound realization, I’m an totally making the most of this opportunity this year.  30k?  That’s totally reasonable, even with the numerous projects and papers I have to work on before the end of the semester. 

The shindig starts tomorrow morning, although I won’t get to write until tomorrow night after work and class.  If anyone else is interested, here are links for both NaNoWriMo and KazNoWriMo. 

http://www.kazmahoney.com/2011/10/28/kaznowrimo/comment-page-1/#comment-7019

http://www.nanowrimo.org/en

So if I’m absentee from Facebook this month or I don’t answer my phone or emails, just be aware that I’m writing, my fingers frantically typing away late into the night, the clacking of keys accompanied by my extensive iTunes library.  I haven’t decided what story I’m working on, but I’m leaning towards one I’ve barely started.  Ideas for this one keep bugging me, and I keep finding inspiration for it everywhere, so it’ll probably be the one for my KazNo goal.  (FYI, it’s about a girl who can see how people died, a guy who refuses to stay dead, and mysterious paranormal disappearances that the two must work together to solve). 

So less than 12 hours to Day 1. Wish me luck!


Leave a Reply

