Reading, Music, and Absentee Parents

Welcome to the randomness of my brain on this muggy Sunday morning.  So it’s almost July; where is my summer going?!  I feel like I haven’t had any time off, probably due to the fact that I’ve been working everyday.  I don’t really mind, but I really miss getting to stay up as late as I need to to finish whatever book I’m reading as is my usual habit.  And in regards to that, I’ve recently been accused of living more and more progressively in the world of my books.  The person who said this seemed to think it was a bad thing; I find it perfectly acceptable.  My fantasy worlds are much more exciting than the real world.  I’ve also been listening to a lot of new music.  Coldplay’s released a few singles from their album that will drop later this year.  “Moving to Mars” is great; check it out!  Other new songs I’ve found include Pink Martini’s cover of Doris Day’s “Que Sera Sera” and a bluegrass/country version of Blu Cantrell’s “Hit ‘Em Up Style."  Both are different but pretty darn good.  In other news, my parents are going on a mini-vacation to Branson and will be gone this entire week, leaving my sister and I home by ourselves.  It’s the first time that the two of us have been left alone; it’s gonna be interesting.  I expect that I will be home by myself a lot of the time, which is fine with me.  Introvert to the core, I am.  Gives me time to read and write without constant interruptions.  Hopefully I can actually be productive in my writing this week; I’ll let you know how it goes.


Leave a Reply

